Home > 

Dominant England Secure Semifinal Spot with Commanding Victory over USA in T20 World Cup

In a resounding display of cricketing prowess, England has become the first team to secure a spot in the semifinals of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The Three Lions achieved this feat on Sunday, June 23, in Bridgetown, where they delivered a dominating 10-wicket victory over the United States of America. Skipper Jos Buttler set the stage ablaze with an unbeaten 83 off just 38 balls, guiding England to chase down a 116-run target within 58 balls.

England’s journey in this edition of the T20 World Cup has been nothing short of a rollercoaster. Following a disappointing start where they failed to win their opening two matches, the reigning champions bounced back in style. Their performance against the USA not only marked a crucial win but also demonstrated a well-rounded team effort that has sent a strong message to other contenders. Chris Jordan was particularly exceptional, taking a historic hat-trick, while Buttler dominated with the bat, hitting five consecutive sixes in one over.

Looking ahead, South Africa and the West Indies are set to battle it out for the second semifinal berth from Group 2 on Monday morning in North Sound. South Africa, remaining unbeaten thus far, needs just a single point to qualify for the semifinals, while the West Indies require two points to secure their position alongside England in the final four.

Winning the toss, England chose to bowl first. Chris Jordan replaced the speedster Mark Wood in the playing eleven, a decision that would soon prove its merit. Reece Topley struck early, dismissing Andries Gous in the first over and setting the tone for the match. However, the USA managed to find some rhythm during the powerplay with Nitish Kumar and Steven Taylor adding 34 runs for the second wicket.

Adil Rashid tightened England’s grip on the game by claiming two crucial wickets in the middle overs. This achievement also saw Rashid becoming England’s leading wicket-taker in T20 World Cup history with 31 wickets.

Join Get ₹99!

. Chris Jordan then orchestrated a remarkable comeback by taking four wickets in the 19th over, including a hat-trick, to further cement England’s authority. Nitish Kumar was the standout performer for the USA, top-scoring with 30 runs. Jordan’s impressive figures of four wickets for just 10 runs made him the best bowler of the match.

Chasing a modest target of 116, England’s openers Phil Salt and Jos Buttler initially found it challenging, accumulating just six runs in the first two overs. However, Buttler soon shifted gears, launching an all-out assault on the opposition. He single-handedly led the charge and obliterated Harmeet Singh in the ninth over by hitting five consecutive sixes. This explosive batting display ensured that England reached the target well within ten overs.

Buttler completed the chase with a boundary off Shadley van Schalkwyk, ending on an unbeaten 83 off 38 balls, an innings laced with six fours and seven towering sixes. Phil Salt also contributed with a steady 25*, offering the perfect support to his captain. Despite Buttler’s and Jordan’s standout contributions, it was Adil Rashid who was awarded Player of the Match for his brilliant spell that saw him bag two wickets for just 13 runs and playing a critical role in pivotal moments.

The USA fielded a team comprising Steven Taylor, Andries Gous, Nitish Kumar, Aaron Jones (captain), Corey Anderson, Milind Kumar, Harmeet Singh, Shadley van Schalkwyk, Nosthush Kenjige, Ali Khan, and Saurabh Netravalkar. On the other hand, England’s playing eleven included: Philip Salt, Jos Buttler (captain & wicketkeeper), Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, and Reece Topley.

Looking forward, England’s dynamic performance reaffirms their status as a formidable force in T20 cricket. Fans and analysts alike will be keenly watching to see if they can sustain this momentum and successfully defend their title in the upcoming knockout stages of the tournament.