Home > 

ICC Unveils Star-Studded ‘Team of the Tournament’ for T20 World Cup 2024; India Dominates with Six Players

The recently concluded T20 World Cup has left the cricketing world buzzing, and the International Cricket Council (ICC) has added to the excitement by revealing its ‘Team of the Tournament.’ In a decision that has both thrilled and surprised fans, six players from the victorious Indian side made the cut. However, the absence of a cricketing titan like Virat Kohli has raised many eyebrows.

Captaining the all-star squad is none other than Rohit Sharma, the seasoned Indian skipper. Rohit had an exceptional tournament, amassing 257 runs with a remarkable strike rate of 156. This remarkable performance underlined the resurgence of his white-ball career over the past 18 months. His innings against Australia and England were pivotal moments for India, guiding them to their third T20 World Cup final.

Joining Rohit at the top of the order is Rahmanullah Gurbaz from Afghanistan. Gurbaz emerged as the leading run-scorer of the tournament with 281 runs. His impactful partnership with Ibrahim Zadran played a crucial role in Afghanistan’s journey to the semi-finals. Gurbaz’s exuberant batting captured the imagination of cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

Nicholas Pooran, the West Indies’ standout performer, and Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis form the middle-order backbone of the team. Pooran’s aggressive stroke play and calm demeanor under pressure propelled the West Indies to victory on multiple occasions. Stoinis, with his all-round capabilities, provided the much-needed balance and flexibility to Australia’s lineup.

Suryakumar Yadav, a vital cog in the Indian machinery, continues to shine in the ICC’s best XI despite a quiet final with the bat. His spectacular fielding efforts, highlighted by one of the catches of the tournament, coupled with crucial knocks against teams like the USA, Afghanistan, and England, have cemented his place in the squad.

The dynamic duo of Hardik Pandya and Axar Patel from India earned their places as the exceptional all-rounders. Both players contributed significantly with bat and ball, demonstrating their versatility and consistency throughout the tournament. Their inclusion adds depth and balance to this formidable team.

Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan takes the role of the spin-bowling all-rounder. Khan’s wizardry with the ball saw him claim 14 wickets, a testament to his continued dominance in the T20 format.

Join Get ₹99!

. His ability to turn the game on its head within a few overs remains his hallmark.

The pace trio named in the squad is nothing short of a dream attack. Spearheading the pace department is India’s Jasprit Bumrah, who was also adjudged the Man of the Tournament. Bumrah’s lethal yorkers and ability to deliver under pressure saw him scoop numerous accolades and a leading wicket-taker title, tied with Arshdeep Singh and Afghanistan’s Fazalhaq Farooqi. These three pacers were instrumental in clinching crucial victories for their respective teams.

Rounding off the ‘Team of the Tournament’ is South Africa’s quick gun, Anrich Nortje, who was honored as the 12th man. Nortje’s journey back from an eight-month injury layoff has been an impressive comeback narrative. Finishing the tournament with 15 wickets, Nortje equaled the efforts of Jasprit Bumrah, showcasing his resilience and skill in competitive cricket.

While the ICC’s picks have largely been met with applause, the exclusion of Virat Kohli has sparked discussions across the globe. Many believe his absence overshadows an otherwise impeccable selection. Nonetheless, the chosen XI reflects the brilliance and the riveting performances that characterized the T20 World Cup 2024.

The tournament underscored India’s dominance in the format, with players like Rohit Sharma leading from the front and youngsters like Arshdeep Singh making a significant impact. The selection of six Indian players reflects the team’s cohesive performance and their adaptability across diverse conditions and strong opponents.

Also featuring prominently are Afghanistan’s emerging talents. Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Rashid Khan’s inclusion in the team illustrates Afghanistan’s continuous growth as a formidable force in international cricket. Their journey to the semi-finals has resonated with fans, portraying a bright future for their cricketing endeavors.

The West Indies and Australia, despite not making it to the final stages, have left an indelible mark through the stellar contributions of Nicholas Pooran and Marcus Stoinis. Their inclusion signifies the global spread of talent and the competitive spirit of the tournament.

As this edition of the T20 World Cup wraps up, the ‘Team of the Tournament’ selection stands as a testament to the players’ extraordinary performances and the unforgettable moments they have crafted, thrilling fans worldwide. The cricketing fraternity now turns its attention to the next season, eager to see how these stars will shine in future encounters.