Home > 

India Storm Past England to Reach ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Final

India recorded a dominant 68-run victory over England to earn a spot in the final of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 in Guyana on Thursday, June 28. The Indian cricket team’s comprehensive performance was anchored by Rohit Sharma’s stellar fifty, setting a challenging target of 171. Indian spinners Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav capitalized on the conditions brilliantly, picking up three wickets each to bundle out England for just 103 runs.

The Men in Blue not only shattered their 10-year-long wait to reach the T20 World Cup final but also avenged their loss to England in the 2022 World Cup semi-final. This victory sets up a tantalizing showdown between the undefeated Indian team and an equally unbeaten South African side in the final in Bridgetown on June 29.

The match experienced several interruptions due to rain at the Providence Stadium in Guyana. Winning the crucial toss, England’s skipper opted to bowl first. India faced early setbacks but found resilience in the form of Captain Rohit Sharma, who top-scored with 57 runs off 39 balls. His partnership with Suryakumar Yadav, who added 47 runs, proved vital as India posted a competitive total of 171/7 in their 20 overs.

England started their innings aggressively, adding 26 runs for the first wicket. However, Indian spinners Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav soon turned the tide. Exploiting the playing conditions masterfully, they led India to bowl out the defending champions for a mere 103 runs in just 16.4 overs. This victory registered as the second-biggest win by a margin of runs in T20 World Cup knockout history, positioning India as clear favorites for the final.

Virat Kohli’s ongoing struggle with form continued, as he was bowled out for a single-digit score by Reece Topley during the powerplay.

Join Get ₹99!

. The struggle didn’t end there—Rishabh Pant also failed to leave a mark. Nonetheless, Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav’s crucial partnership put India back on track. Even after losing both settled batsmen in quick succession, a 23-run cameo from Hardik Pandya proved vital. Chris Jordan managed to snag three wickets in the death overs, restricting India from reaching an even bigger total, but the tricky batting conditions in the latter stages suggested a challenging target.

In reply, England’s Jos Buttler temporarily lifted England’s hopes by smashing three consecutive boundaries off Arshdeep Singh. However, Axar Patel quickly dismissed Buttler on his very first delivery, triggering an embarrassing collapse for England. Attempting to build a resistance, Harry Brook scored 25 runs, but Kuldeep and Axar’s consistent wicket-taking thwarted any hopes of a comeback. Jasprit Bumrah sealed England’s fate by taking the wicket of Chris Jordan in the 17th over, ending his spell with impressive figures of two for 12. For his key contribution of three wickets for 23 runs, Axar Patel was awarded the Player of the Match.

The Indian playing XI was comprised of: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, and Jasprit Bumrah.

On the English side, the playing XI featured: Philip Salt, Jos Buttler (w/c), Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Moeen Ali, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, and Reece Topley.

As both teams prepare for the final showdown in Bridgetown, cricket enthusiasts around the globe eagerly await the clash between the titans. It’s particularly significant for India, who aim to break their title drought, facing South Africa—a team known for their tenacity and unbeaten run thus far. The final promises to be a gripping encounter, with both sides keen on lifting the coveted T20 World Cup trophy.