Home > 

KKR Dismantles SRH in IPL 2024 Final Sets New Knockout Record

The high-scoring IPL 2024 season came to a dramatic and unexpected conclusion as the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) dominated the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in a remarkably low-scoring final at the iconic MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The thrilling culmination saw KKR secure their third IPL title, having previously triumphed in 2012 and 2014, by chasing down a minuscule target of 114 with ease and eight wickets in hand.

In a stadium brimming with anticipation, the first inning saw SRH crumble under the relentless pressure exerted by KKR’s bowling attack. The SRH batting lineup was dismantled for a meager 113 runs in just 18.3 overs. It was a collective effort from the KKR bowlers, with each of the six utilized bowlers capturing at least one wicket, leaving SRH in disarray.

Mitchell Starc set the tone early for KKR, taking the crucial wickets of SRH openers Abhishek Sharma and Travis Head within the first two overs. The pressure on SRH intensified as Head departed for a golden duck, ending his tournament on a disappointing note. Starc continued his fiery spell by dismissing Rahul Tripathi in the fifth over, and from there, the KKR bowling unit took control. Wickets fell at regular intervals, with SRH unable to establish any significant partnerships.

Pat Cummins, playing a valiant hand for SRH, emerged as the highest run-scorer for his team, scoring 24 runs from the lower order. However, his resolute effort was cut short in the 19th over, cementing SRH’s position at the lowest total recorded in an IPL final. The collapse of SRH’s batting line-up was a spectacle of disciplined and incisive bowling from KKR, leaving the fans in the stands and watching worldwide in utter awe of the Knights’ bowling prowess.

KKR’s run chase was a walk in the park compared to the turmoil that SRH faced. Although Cummins managed to take the wicket of Sunil Narine in the second over, it did little to slow KKR’s pace. Venkatesh Iyer, who went on to score an unbeaten fifty, and Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who contributed 39 runs off 32 balls, ensured there were no further hiccups. Iyer’s knock was a strategic blend of aggression and control, guiding KKR to a comfortable victory in just 10.3 overs.

Join Get ₹99!

. Venkatesh hit the winning runs, sending the stadium into a frenzy as he clinched the win with an inside edge single, ensuring KKR’s place in the echelons of IPL history.

The match, lasting a mere 29 overs in total, shattered a 14-year-old record by becoming the shortest playoff or knockout match in IPL history. The previous record of the shortest game by overs was held by the third-place playoff between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and the now-defunct Deccan Chargers (DC) in Navi Mumbai in 2010, which spanned 32.2 overs. During that game, RCB bowled DC out for just 82 runs in 18.3 overs and subsequently chased down the target in 13.5 overs with nine wickets remaining. The swift nature of the 2024 final transcended expectations, adding another remarkable chapter to the extensive lore of the IPL.

Reflecting on the game, KKR’s all-round performance was a testament to their preparation and execution under pressure. The comprehensive win didn’t just secure a trophy but also highlighted the team’s evolution and strategic depth. Each bowler played an instrumental role, starting with Starc’s early breakthroughs that set the tone, followed by disciplined bowling from their supporting cast, including Vaibhav Arora.

The off-pitch ramifications of KKR’s win signal a significant moment for the franchise and their fan base. Winning their third title, KKR became one of the most successful teams in IPL history, sharing the accolade with teams that have dominated the IPL over different eras. For SRH, the loss would surely be a moment of introspection, understanding how a cataclysmic batting collapse cost them a potentially historic title.

In conclusion, the 2024 IPL final was more than just a game; it was an exhibition of strategic expertise, resilience, and the thrill of competitive cricket. KKR’s victory rewrote the record books, cemented legacies, and left an indelible mark on the tournament, making it an everlasting memory in the hearts of cricket aficionados. The final served not only as a definitive endpoint for the season but also as a beacon of the unpredictable, exhilarating nature of the sport.