Home > 

Kolkata Knight Riders Clinch Third IPL Title in Historic Dramatic Finale

The 2024 Indian Premier League (IPL) season came to a climactic end with the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) emerging victorious over the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the final showdown at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Despite a tournament characterized by high-scoring games, the final was an anticlimax in terms of runs, as KKR clinched their third IPL title with a dominant display, having previously won in 2012 and 2014.

In what turned out to be a low-scoring affair, KKR bowled out SRH for a paltry total of 113 runs in 18.3 overs. The Kolkata bowlers were in scintillating form, with all six bowlers used in the match claiming at least one wicket each. SRH’s batting lineup proved to be fragile under the relentless KKR attack, making it tough for any batsman to settle and build a formidable score.

The star performers for KKR with the ball were Mitchell Starc and Vaibhav Arora, who demolished the SRH top order in the very early stages of the game. Abhishek Sharma was the first to go, soon followed by Travis Head, who departed for a golden duck. Head’s end to the tournament was far from ideal, capping off a series of underwhelming performances. Soon after, Rahul Tripathi succumbed to Starc in the fifth over, leaving SRH in a precarious position. As wickets continued to tumble, Pat Cummins provided some resistance lower down the order with a score of 24, but his efforts were in vain as he fell in the 19th over, resulting in SRH’s lowest score in an IPL final.

In response, KKR made light work of the meager target. Although Pat Cummins managed to claim the wicket of Sunil Narine in the second over, the remainder of the run chase was a breeze for the Knight Riders. Venkatesh Iyer anchored the innings with an unbeaten fifty, displaying sheer composure and class. He found a reliable partner in Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who contributed 39 runs off 32 balls. The chase was comfortable and fast, concluding in just 10.3 overs with eight wickets to spare, as Iyer hit the winning runs off an inside edge, sparking celebrations among the KKR players and fans.

This final match shattered a 14-year-old record in IPL history, turning out to be the shortest playoff/knockout match in terms of overs.

Join Get ₹99!

. The contest lasted just 29 overs, surpassing the previous shortest game back in 2010 when Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) defeated the Deccan Chargers. That match had wrapped up in 32.2 overs, with RCB chasing a target of 83 in 13.5 overs after bowling out the Chargers for 82.

The 2024 final’s quick finish drew a mixture of surprise and admiration from cricket enthusiasts around the world. The speed and efficiency with which KKR dispatched SRH highlighted their dominance not just in this match but throughout the tournament. Venkatesh Iyer’s performance, in particular, was widely praised, as he managed to stay cool under pressure and deliver crucial runs when needed.

Moreover, the clinical performance by KKR’s bowlers was pivotal to their triumph. The early blitz by Starc and Arora set the tone, while the rest of the bowling unit ensured there were no recoveries for SRH. Sunrisers’ struggle was evident from the beginning, failing to establish any formidable partnerships that could challenge the total.

For SRH, the loss was a bitter pill to swallow. Their significant reliance on a few key players backfired in this high-stakes game. The typically reliable top order failed to fire, leaving their middle and lower order with too much to do. The team’s inability to handle KKR’s disciplined and aggressive bowling attack spelled an early and ignominious exit from the competition.

As the dust settled on the 2024 IPL season, it was clear that KKR’s blend of experienced international stars and promising young talent had set them apart. Their strategy and execution throughout the tournament were impeccable, culminating in a well-deserved championship. This historic final not only marked KKR’s third IPL title but also added another memorable chapter to the storied legacy of the Indian Premier League.