Home > 

Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Sunrisers Hyderabad IPL 2024 Final: A Historic Game for the Record Books

The high-octane IPL 2024 season concluded with an unexpected and dramatic anticlimax as the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) dismantled Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in a low-scoring final clash at the iconic MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. The Knight Riders clinched their third IPL title, their first in nearly a decade, adding to their triumphs in 2012 and 2014.

The final showdown, anticipated to be a high-scoring thriller, took an unexpected turn as KKR’s bowling attack dominated the SRH batters, restricting them to a modest total of 113 in just 18.3 overs. None of the SRH batsmen could withstand the onslaught from the KKR bowlers, with each of the six bowlers used by the Knight Riders claiming at least one wicket. This dominant performance laid the groundwork for KKR’s record-breaking victory.

Chasing a meager target of 114, KKR made light work of the SRH bowling attack. They stormed to the finish line in just 10.3 overs, securing the win with eight wickets in hand. This decisive win not only asserted KKR’s supremacy in the final but also shattered a 14-year-old record in IPL history.

The entire match, lasting a mere 29 overs, now holds the distinction of being the shortest playoff or knockout game in IPL history. This remarkable feat surpassed the previous record held by the third-place playoff between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Deccan Chargers in Navi Mumbai back in 2010, which lasted 32.2 overs. In that game, RCB bowled out DC for just 82 runs in 18.3 overs and then chased down the target in 13.5 overs with nine wickets in hand.

From the outset, KKR bowlers set the tone for a dominant performance. Mitchell Starc and Vaibhav Arora struck early to dismiss both SRH openers – Abhishek Sharma and Travis Head – within the first two overs.

Join Get ₹99!

. Head’s departure for a golden duck marked a disappointing end to his tournament run. Starc continued his devastating spell by claiming the vital wicket of Rahul Tripathi in the 5th over, following which the rest of the KKR bowling unit joined the party.

SRH found themselves unable to build any substantial partnerships, losing wickets at regular intervals. Pat Cummins, batting lower down the order, was the top scorer for SRH with a 24-run knock. However, his efforts were in vain as he too succumbed in the 19th over, sealing SRH’s fate and relegating them to the lowest total ever recorded in an IPL final.

KKR’s reply was swift and assured. Despite losing Sunil Narine early to a sharp delivery by Pat Cummins in the second over, the chase was a picture of calmness and precision. Venkatesh Iyer was the cornerstone of their innings, delivering an unbeaten fifty that steadied the ship. Alongside him, Rahmanullah Gurbaz contributed 39 runs off 32 balls, playing a solid supporting role. It was Iyer who sealed the win, driving a single off an inside edge to complete the chase, and the joyous scenes that followed were a testament to KKR’s thoroughly commanding performance.

This match will be remembered not only for KKR’s title win but also for the historical records it set. The explosive pace attack, led by the likes of Starc and Arora, and the influential batting of Iyer and Gurbaz, were pivotal in securing KKR’s victory. The historic context of this IPL final adds another glorious chapter to the annals of the tournament’s vibrant history.

In summary, the IPL 2024 final was an unexpected display of sheer dominance rather than a closely fought contest. KKR’s triumph over SRH by chasing down the 114-run target with ease marked a memorable conclusion to a record-breaking match. This match, the shortest in IPL playoff history in terms of overs, demonstrated the unpredictability and thrilling nature of T20 cricket, where fortunes can change rapidly, leading to historical firsts. The Knight Riders’ victory not only showcased their all-round strength but also firmly etched their name among the elite teams in the IPL landscape.