Home > 

Records and Milestones on the Horizon for the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup

Records and milestones will once again be under focus as 20 teams gear up to battle for the coveted silverware in the ninth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup, set to kick off on June 1, 2024. This exciting chapter in international cricket will be co-hosted by the United States of America and the West Indies, with the USA taking the stage first. The tournament opener will witness the United States squaring off against their neighbours Canada in a thrilling curtain-raiser clash in Texas on Saturday.

Defending champions England are set to face stiff competition from favourites India and Australia as they strive to retain their title. India, led by Rohit Sharma, will be determined to end a prolonged 13-year wait for the T20 World Cup trophy. Meanwhile, Australia, the reigning ODI champions, are in pursuit of a unique record in this upcoming mega event.

Australia’s resilient team, previously eliminated in the semi-finals by Pakistan in the 2022 edition on home soil, will be led by Mitchell Marsh in 2024. Their agenda is clear: win the T20 World Cup in the USA and West Indies and achieve an unprecedented feat. Victory in this tournament would make Australia the first nation ever to concurrently hold three ICC titles — the ODI World Cup, the World Test Championship, and the T20 World Cup.

The Australian team, under Pat Cummins’ leadership, celebrated winning the WTC 2023 title in June followed by clinching the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 in November, overcoming India in both finals. The Aussies secured their first T20 World Cup title in 2021 and have established themselves as a dominant force in ICC events. Among the driving figures in their quest for records will be veteran opener David Warner, who is Australia’s highest run-scorer in T20 World Cup history with 806 runs in 34 innings. Warner has his sights set on surpassing the 1,000-run mark, thus becoming the first Australian and third overall to reach this milestone.

In addition to his exemplary batting, Warner is also targeting a major feat in the fielding department.

Join Get ₹99!

. South African legend AB de Villiers holds the record for the most catches in T20 World Cup history, with 23 catches in 25 innings. Warner currently has 21 catches and is poised to challenge this record. Other active cricketers in contention include Glenn Maxwell with 16 catches, Rohit Sharma with 16, and New Zealand’s Kane Williamson with 15.

On the Indian side, Virat Kohli remains a formidable figure, holding several records in the tournament, including the most runs and the most fifty-plus scores. In the 2024 edition, Kohli aims to surpass yet another milestone. This time, he will be chasing Mahela Jayawardene’s record for the most fours in T20 World Cup history. The former Sri Lankan captain scored 111 fours in 31 innings, while Kohli stands at 103 fours in just 25 innings. The Indian veteran, known for his exceptional batting prowess, will be keen to add this accolade to his impressive list of achievements.

As these records and milestones come into focus, the excitement surrounding the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup continues to build. The stage is set not only for individual brilliance but also for historic team achievements. Fans worldwide eagerly await to see whether Australia can become the first team to hold all three prestigious ICC titles simultaneously.

With the competition heating up, all eyes will be on the players as they set out to entrance fans with spectacular performances, strategic gameplay, and record-breaking feats. The ninth edition of the T20 World Cup promises to be a tantalizing spectacle of cricketing excellence, where every match could rewrite the history books and set new standards for the sport. Keep tuned to witness which teams and players rise to the occasion and etch their names into the annals of cricket history.