Home > 

Shubman Gill Appointed as Captain for Zimbabwe T20I Series as India Announces Squad

India’s cricketing fraternity is abuzz with the latest announcement regarding the national team’s squad for the upcoming T20I series against Zimbabwe. Shubman Gill, a rising star in the cricketing world, has been named captain of the team for the series. This marks a significant milestone for Gill, as it is his first time serving as captain in international cricket.

The news comes as India’s senior players, who have been part of the T20 World Cup squad, will be rested. This includes prominent names like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, and Jasprit Bumrah. This strategic move is aimed at giving these players some much-needed rest following their efforts in the T20 World Cup, which concludes on June 29. The T20I series against Zimbabwe is scheduled to kick off on July 6, providing a short but necessary break for the senior players.

Former cricket legend VVS Laxman is reportedly set to step in as an interim coach for the series. This change comes as Rahul Dravid’s tenure as head coach is set to conclude with the end of the T20 World Cup. The inclusion of Laxman could provide the team with fresh perspectives and strategies.

The selection committee has also opted to reward several standout performers from the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season. Among these are Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Nitish Reddy, and Tushar Deshpande, who have been picked for the first time for the national T20I squad. Their inclusion is a testament to their impressive performances during the IPL, with Deshpande continuing his form from the previous season.

Adding to the mix, Dhruv Jurel, already a part of the Test team, has been selected for the T20I squad for the first time. This young talent has shown promise and is expected to bring fresh energy to the team.

Interestingly, some players who participated in the World Cup squad and were also part of the reserves have been retained for the T20I series against Zimbabwe. These include Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson, and the newly appointed captain, Shubman Gill. Avesh Khan and Khaleel Ahmed, who were part of the reserves during the World Cup, have also been picked for the series, further strengthening the squad.

Join Get ₹99!


The full squad for India’s T20I series against Zimbabwe is as follows: Shubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, and Tushar Deshpande.

The T20I series against Zimbabwe promises to be an exciting encounter, with five matches scheduled. The matches will take place at the Harare Sports Club in Harare and will start at 4:30 PM IST. Here’s the schedule:

1. 1st T20I – July 6
2. 2nd T20I – July 7
3. 3rd T20I – July 10
4. 4th T20I – July 13
5. 5th T20I – July 14

All eyes will be on Shubman Gill as he takes on the captaincy role for the first time on the international stage. Gill’s consistent performances and leadership qualities have evidently impressed the selectors, earning him this prestigious responsibility. His ability to lead from the front will be crucial for India, especially with several senior players unavailable.

The inclusion of new faces from the IPL and the presence of some World Cup squad members provides a balanced blend of youth and experience. This series could serve as a platform for young players to showcase their skills on the international stage and potentially cement their spots in future India squads.

Fans and cricket analysts alike will be eager to see how this relatively young and dynamic squad performs against Zimbabwe. The series not only holds importance for individual players but also for India’s preparation and strategy building for future international tournaments.

As the T20I series against Zimbabwe draws near, the anticipation and excitement continue to build. With a fresh captain at the helm and a mix of seasoned players and promising newcomers, India’s team is all set to write a new chapter in its cricketing journey.